CUPE BC’s Indigenous Workers Committee was established to provide information, awareness and education to Indigenous CUPE members within the province, and the CUPE BC executive and membership as a whole.

To promote awareness of our issues we support events, plan gatherings and bring forward resolutions to the annual CUPE BC convention. For a number of years we have supported National Aboriginal Day (June 21) at Oppenheimer Park, Aboriginal Veteran’s Day (November 8) in Vancouver, and various Idle No More events across B.C.

We continue to work with the Provincial and National CUPE executive boards to include awareness training in all education materials and to ensure that we recognize and acknowledge all Aboriginal Nations on whose territory we reside.

Committee members

Deea Bailey
Local 1936
Shawn Bortolon
Local 3742
Larissa Deneault
Local 900
Johnathan Dyer
Local 391
Lori Gagnon
Local 4990
Simone Gauthier
Local 3523
Luke George
Local 3479
Sam George (Elder)
Karen Lynn Green
Local 4990
Nora Hooper
Local 728
Michael Lupo
Local 1004
Debra Merrier
Alternate Regional Vice President Metro Vancouver, Local 728, CUPE BC Executive Board
Kerra P. Michel
Local 5101
Andrea Morrison
Local 4951
Stuart Myers
Local 873
Shelley Saje Ricci
Diversity Vice President Indigenous, Local 728, BC Fed Executive Council
Carissa Taylor
Tracy Telford
Taily Wills
Local 947